Mr. Intendant,

I have just visited the English territory south of New France. Their space is limited and has thirteen colonies which are independent of each other, but share a connection to England. The Thirteen Colonies are located between the Atlantic Ocean and the Appalachian mountain range. The population is growing so rapidly that there is almost no land left to settle on. The people would like to extend the territory beyond the Appalachians, but this region is controlled by the French.

The Thirteen Colonies can be divided into three parts:

The Northern Colonies or New England

From Massachusetts to Rhode Island, the landscape is similar to that of New France. In winter, the climate is colder and there is snow in some places. The vegetation is mixed; there are hardwoods and conifers. In fact, one might think one was in New France, except that the soil is rockier and less fertile. However, the rivers do not freeze, which greatly facilitates communication. It is possible to navigate and trade all year, which is a huge advantage.

The Middle Colonies

The centre of the territory is occupied by the colonies of New York, New Jersey, Delaware and Pennsylvania. The climate is slightly milder and the land is excellent. This is where the most wheat and corn are produced, and where the most cattle and hogs are raised.

The Southern Colonies

In the south, it is much warmer and the vegetation is very different. From Maryland to Georgia, it almost never snows. Land is often sandy or marshy. Several trees never lose their foliage. Plants that would not mature at home can be grown here: Trinidadian tobacco, rice and indigo. This is far from the sugar maple and spruce trees of the north.

Your devoted servant,

Jacques Choquette

Author: Léon Robichaud

See also – Traces of the past: 

Quickly check your knowledge: